En Plein Air Frisco


In collaboration with Play Frisco – City of Frisco Parks and Recreation Department, Visual Arts Guild of Frisco presents the 2nd annual “En Plein Air Frisco” event!

The event is hosted at The Grove at the Commons, (8300 McKinney Rd Frisco, TX). Juried artists compete for cash prizes totaling $2,000. Artists will paint for up to 3 days at select locations within the city of Frisco. On day three, there will be an optional wet paint/quick draw competition. All art created during this event must be for sale. 20% commission from sales from the exhibition benefits the Visual Arts Guild of Frisco.

**No images need to be submitted**

Submission is open to the public; submission fee is $55, VAGF members and past participants receive a $10 discount (please email info@vagf.org for the member code). If you would like to join the Visual Arts Guild of Frisco, please sign up here: https://www.vagf.org/about/membership

No more than 50 artists will be invited to participate The payment of the submission fee is non-refundable.

Submission deadline is March 25, 2024.

3 locations / City of Frisco Parks:

Heritage Museum and historic park: 6455 Page St, Frisco TX

Freedom Meadow at Warren Park: 7599 Eldorado Pkwy, Frisco TX

Frisco Commons Park and the Grove at the Commons: 8000 McKinney Rd, Frisco TX

To register and more details go to Smarter Entry: https://www.smarterentry.com/CallsForEntry/VAGF/


Maria Haag grew up between North Dakota and Kansas, and currently lives in Dallas, Texas. She earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas and her Master of Fine Arts degree in drawing and painting from the University of North Texas. She received the Charles and Margaret Pollack art purchase award from the Mulvane Museum in Topeka, Kansas, and in 2017, 2018, and 2019 she participated in Dallas in Prizzi, a community inspired mural project in Prizzi, Sicily. She has participated in group shows at the New Orleans Contemporary Art Center, Project Gallery V in New York, Austin College in Sherman, TX, Art Center of the Bluegrass in Danville, KY, and Kansas City Artists Coalition, among others. Solo exhibitions include the Cora Stafford Gallery in Denton, TX, Arts Fort Worth in Fort Worth, TX, and Pencil on Paper Gallery in Dallas, TX. Every day, she feels caught in a cycle of destruction and transformation and translates that sensation into her work. She captures bodies hovering between decay and transformation, broken images whirling through a maelstrom of memory. The physical surfaces she creates mirror the transitions of physical and spiritual bodies. Their fragility is reflected in physically and digitally broken objects, crusted with layers of paint, charcoal, and collage.

Website:  https://mariahaagart.com/

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/mariahaagart/

We’re glad you can join us for EN PLEIN AIR FRISCO.

We have a room block reserved at Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas/Frisco North-FieldhouseUSA for April 24, 2024 through April 28, 2024. Booking your room is simple. Just follow the link below.

We’re looking forward to seeing you in April 2024 for the 2nd annual En Plein Air Frisco!





  • First prize: “Silos by the tracks” by Lori Cusick
  • Second prize: “Number 19” by Nancy Tyler
  • Third prize: “Memorial Park” by Jeffrey Baumgartner
  • Honorable Mention: “Field of Bluebonnets” by Kristine Tague
  • Honorable Mention: “Bluebonnet Patch” by Lori Cusick
  • Honorable Mention: “Dappled Morning Light” by Pernie Fallon


4/13/23: Best of Day “Spring Morning” by Kellyn Chandler

4/14/23: Best of Day “Go Frisco” by Jingsheng Liu

4/15/23: Best of Day “Common Breeze” by Kellyn Chandler


“Rock n’ Roll Hoochie Koo” by James Gilbreath


“Because of the Flag” By Pete Quaid

Selected Artists:

Amy Ishmael
Milessa Murphy
Barry Dominick
Marie Blocker
Deborah Berry
Jeffrey Baumgartner

Selected Artists:

Gail Greenoe
Heidi Kidd
James Gilbreath
Jeremiah Staggs
Kellyn Chandler
Kristine Tague

Selected Artists: 

Laura Heatherly
Lori Cusick
Maryam Mohi
Murthy Mantha
Mary Wessling
Pete Quaid

Selected Artists:

Phillip Murray
Pernie Fallon
Jesse Ringness
Srinivas Kathoju
Nancy Sterling Tyler
Jingsheng Liu